Board of Directors

The Elior Group Board of Directors comprises nine members and one non-voting member who are elected for four-year terms. Five of the members are independent directors and four are women directors.

Role and responsibilities of the Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is responsible for reviewing and approving all of Elior Group’s main strategic, financial, HR and CSR decisions, and for ensuring that these decisions are effectively implemented by executive management. You can find the role and responsibilities of the Board of Directors in the registration document.

Members of the Board of Directors

The members of the Elior Group Board of Directors are as follows:

  • Philippe Salle, Chairman of the Board of Directors and Chief Executive Officer
  • Gilles Auffret, senior independent director
  • Laurence Batlle, independent director
  • Anne Busquet, independent director
  • Gilles Cojan, Vice-Chairman (representative of Sofibim*)
  • Emilio Cuatrecasas, independent director (representative of Emesa)
  • Sophie Javary, director (representative of Servinvest*)
  • Elisabeth Van Damme, independent director (representative of CDPQ)
  • Robert Zolade, Honorary Chairman, director (representative of BIM*)
  • Célia Cornu, non-voting member

* Entities controlled directly or indirectly by Robert Zolade


From left to right: Laurence Batlle, Emilio Cuatrecasas, Robert Zolade, Anne Busquet, Philippe Salle, Sophie Javary, Gilles Auffret, Elisabeth Van Damme, Gilles Cojan.

Credit: Simon Lambert/Haytham/Rea

Philippe Salle, Chairman and CEO

Philippe Salle was appointed Chairman of the Board of Directors of Elior Group on March 10, 2015 and is Chairman and CEO of the Group since April 29, 2015.

He began his career at Total in Indonesia before joining Accenture in 1990. He moved to McKinsey in 1995, where he was promoted to Senior Manager in 1998. He joined the Vedior Group (now Randstad, a company listed on Amsterdam Euronext) in 1999 and was appointed Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Vedior France in 2002, and President of the Southern Europe zone in 2006 (France, Spain, Italy and Switzerland). He held this position until 2007, when he joined the Geoservices group (now Schlumberger, a company listed on the New York, Paris, London, Amsterdam and Zurich stock exchanges), a technological company in the oil sector operating in 52 countries with nearly 7,000 employees, first as Managing Director then as Chairman and Chief Executive Officer up to March 2011. Philippe Salle was Chairman and Chief Executive of the Altran group, the world leader in innovation consulting, since June 2011.

Philippe Salle is a member of the Board of Directors of Banque Transatlantique since 2010, a member of the Board of Directors of GTT (Gaztransport & Technigaz) since February 2014 and a member of the Board of Directors of Bourbon since May 2014. He is Knight of the French National Order of Merit and Knight of the French Legion of Honor. He is also Commander of the Order of Merit of the Italian Republic.

Philippe Salle is a graduate of the Ecole des Mines de Paris and obtained an MBA from the Kellogg Graduate School of Management, Northwestern University (Chicago, USA).

Gilles Auffret, independent director

Gilles Auffret is currently Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Azulis and Chairman of the Board of Directors of Terreal. He held various management and executive positions within the Pechiney group between 1982 and 1999 and then within Solvay Rhodia from 2001 to 2013. Prior to that he was an auditor at the Cour des Comptes between 1975 and 1978, and chargé de mission within the French Ministry of Trade and Industry between 1978 and 1982. Gilles Auffret is a graduate of École Polytechnique, IEP, École Nationale de la Statistique et de l’Administration Économique, and ENA.

Laurence Batlle, independent director

Laurence Batlle is Chairman of the Executive Board  of RATP Dev since January 1, 2017. She was previously a member of the Executive Board and Executive Vice-President Africa America of RATP Dev, which she joined in 2007 as CFO following two years spent with Atos Origin. She worked at Pricewaterhouse Coopers from 1993 to 2005, where she became a partner. Laurence Batlle is a qualified Chartered Accountant in France and holds a Masters in Finance and Accounting from Institut Commercial de Nancy. She is also a graduate of the Advanced Management Program of Harvard Business School.

Anne Busquet, independent director

Anne Busquet has been principal at AMB Advisors LLC in New York since 2006. She began her career in 1973 at Hilton International before joining the American Express group in 1978, where she held several high executive positions. She served as President of AMB Advisors from 2001 to 2003, when she joined InterActiveCorp as President of Travel Services and was subsequently appointed CEO of Local and Media Services.

Gilles Cojan, director (representative of Sofibim*)

Gilles Cojan joined Elior in 1992 as Chief Financial Officer and was subsequently appointed Group Managing Director Elior International and Strategy. He now represents Sofibim on the Elior Group Board of Directors. Before joining Elior he headed up the Financing and Treasury division at Valeo (from 1990). Between 1978 and 1986 Gilles Cojan was Treasurer of the pharmaceutical group Servier, before joining Banque Transatlantique in the role of CEO of the subsidiary GTI Finance.

Emilio Cuatrecasas, independent director (representative of Emesa)

Emilio Cuatrecasas is Chairman of Corporación Empresarial Emesa and Non-Executive Chairman of Areas. He began his career in 1977 as a lawyer at the Cuatrecasas law firm, where he successively held the posts of Managing Partner, Chief Executive Officer and President until 2014. In 2005 he was awarded the Cross of Honor of the Civil Order of San Raimundo de Peñafort. He is currently the Honorary President of the non-profit association, Barcelona Global, and Asociación para el Progreso de la Dirección.

Sophie Javary, director (representative of Servinvest)

Sophie Javary has been heading up the EMEA Corporate Finance department at BNP Paribas since 2013. She began her career with Bank of America before moving to Indosuez. In 1994, she was appointed Managing Director and Managing Partner at Rothschild and then in 2011, she joined Paribas as Managing Director of the Investment Banking Europe division. In 2013, she became a Knight of the French Legion of Honor.

Elisabeth Van Damme, independent director (representative of CDPQ)

Elisabeth Van Damme is currently a partner at Redwood Finance, a financial services firm, having held the post of Chief Financial Officer of Bureau Van Dijk until 2008. Prior to that, she worked at Coca-Cola and was an auditor at KPMG (BBKS/Peat Marwick). Elisabeth Van Damme holds a degree in Applied Economics.

Robert Zolade, Honorary Chairman, director (representative of BIM*)

Robert Zolade is the co-founder of the Elior group, which he co-chaired and then chaired since it was formed in 1991, until 2014. Previously, he held various executive positions within the Accor group, including Chairman and CEO of Société Générale de Restauration in 1990, and Chief Executive Officer of Compagnie Internationale des Wagons-Lits et de Tourisme from 1990 to 1992. Robert Zolade graduated from Institut d'Etudes Politiques de Paris (IEP) and also holds a degree in law and a post-graduate degree in economics.

Célia Cornu, non-voting member

Célia Cornu has been Chief Executive Officer of Compagnie Hôtelière de Bagatelle since 2015 and she is a member of the Strategy Committee at Sofibim. She began her career in the marketing departments of the Printemps and Galeries Lafayette groups before moving into financial investment at Pragma Capital and Advent International. She subsequently joined BIM in 2009.

Compensation policy